toggle
Tuomas Katva
Using Liferay APIs from Portlet
June 25, 2012 2:49 AM
Answer

Tuomas Katva

Recent Posts

Hi

I am new with Portlet and Liferay development, but I was wondering is it possible to access Liferay APIs from portlet (for example User, Organization, etc...) ? Especially from Vaadin portlet. First test that I would like to do is just get the logged users name and print it to the Vaadin portlet.

If someone could point me to right direction it would be greatly appreciated. Examples, tutorials would be really great.

Thank you

Best Regards Tuomas
Sandeep Nair
RE: Using Liferay APIs from Portlet
June 25, 2012 3:58 AM
Answer

Sandeep Nair

Recent Posts

Hi,

You can definitely use Liferay APIs within a portlet.
Like to get the information of a user who is logged in i normally use PortalUtil.getUser(request)

I havent worked with Vaadin portlet, but I dont see why you cannot use Liferay API's

Regards,
Sandeep
David H Nebinger
June 25, 2012 4:43 AM
Answer

David H Nebinger

Recent Posts

Tuomas Katva:
I am new with Portlet and Liferay development, but I was wondering is it possible to access Liferay APIs from portlet (for example User, Organization, etc...) ?

Of course you can use the APIs from a portlet. They're designed to work from portlet plugins. All you need to do is identify the entity you want to access, then use the XxxLocalServiceUtil class to retrieve them.

Especially from Vaadin portlet.

We're doing all of our business portlets in Vaadin now, and we use the APIs all the time.

First test that I would like to do is just get the logged users name and print it to the Vaadin portlet.

Ah, now this one does not require the API (since the user is available using better methods).