toggle
Roger Wilson
Programatically pulling Web Content
February 20, 2013 8:13 AM
Answer

Roger Wilson

Recent Posts

Hi,

I'm relatively new to Liferay's Java API and I'm trying to pull information for Related Assets. Client has requested the ability to preview information prior to publishing. In this case, we're working with JournalArticle objects.

We've set up a page for them to view their main content as-written in CKEditor to display regardless of display date. This resolved their issues as far as main content, but our related asset widgets will only display information that is up-to-date with the most recent publish. It WILL pull from a draft if no publish has taken place, but once a publish has gone through, we're locked into that view until the next publish.

Programatically, it seems to stem from the following code we've written (not myself, but another developer):

// Get some context
String layoutUuid = themeDisplay.getLayout().getUuid();
long groupId = themeDisplay.getScopeGroupId();

//...

// Find the Journal Article associated with this page
List<JournalArticle> articles = null;
try {
articles = JournalArticleServiceUtil.getArticlesByLayoutUuid(groupId, layoutUuid);
} catch(Exception e) {

}
long articleId = 0;

// We we get a hit then make this the article,
if (articles != null && articles.size() > 0) {
articleId = articles.get(0).getResourcePrimKey();
} else {
Long sessionArticleId = (Long) renderRequest.getPortletSession().getAttribute("articleResourceId", PortletSession.APPLICATION_SCOPE);
if (sessionArticleId != null) {
articleId = sessionArticleId;
}
}

JournalArticle article = null;
if (articleId > 0) {
try {
// Find the latest published version of the Journal Article and its asset links
article = JournalArticleServiceUtil.getLatestArticle(articleId);
} catch (Exception e) {

}
}

if (article != null) {
AssetEntry assetEntry = AssetEntryLocalServiceUtil.getEntry(JournalArticle.class.getName(), article.getResourcePrimKey());