Combination View Flat View Tree View
Threads [ Previous | Next ]
Jason Miller
new user having trouble formulating a specific question
March 22, 2013 7:14 AM
Answer

Jason Miller

Recent Posts

I'm new to liferay, but I have an installation running, and I have successfully created my own portlet that will be used for our business, so the side representing my real bread and butter is good to go, but I'm having trouble with designing the rest of the site. We have a 12 year old custom solution that has evolved into more of a back end SAAS type deal, such that our "product" (training videos) can be sold (launched) from other people's web sites. We want to use Liferay to replace the front end of our solution and just hook into the back end like our customers do, and have Liferay launch courses and manage our students. I'm 99% sure Liferay can do what we need, but there are a lot of implementation options, and we have a multi-level hierarchy that complicates things a bit.

Our current solution is basically one big web app with one big database and something like liferay's companyid that separates them. We have resellers that buy a domain name and point it to our server, and based on the hostname in the url they'll see the appropriate site, etc. Instances basically. But the trick is that these instances are already heavily optimized for the new site, so it's literally like a 2 minute setup process. They all look almost identical, we just swap out the images. We currently have about 150 instances running, maybe half of them getting regular traffic. But liferay seems like it rolls out instances completely defaulted. Sites doesn't do an actual "site" like I was expecting, it seems more like a section of a site.