Threads [ Previous | Next ]
toggle
Mike Cunningham
Newbie would appreciate some advice
October 23, 2013 6:36 AM
Answer

Mike Cunningham

Recent Posts

Hi - I'm brand new to CMS and to Liferay - never setup either before, and would appreciate some advice, please.

I'm setting up CE-ga3 (Liferay + Tomcat bundle) in a Ubuntu server 12.04 LTS virtual machine on VMware ESXi 5.5
I've setup MySQL as the database provider, and created a minimal install portal-ext.properties file.
I've removed the welcome_theme.
I can successfully execute startup.sh with the expected results - one portal created with the Liferay.com site, plus private and public sites.
Now comes the part where I need advice/recommendations:

I'm not sure if I should be looking at two portals with one site each, or one portal with two sites...

My requirements are fairly simple -
I need an intranet site for the company users, accessible internally via http (port 80).
Only a few portlets are required - login, document and content, calendar, message boards and perhaps email.

I also need an extranet site for suppliers to upload and download documents, accessible via https (port 443) only
I'm guessing the only portlets required are login and document and content.
I would like some of the internal (intranet users), power users maybe to be able to upload and download content from this site/portal.

This is an SMB, with one non-static IP from their ISP - I've set the modem to bridge mode, their router can be configured
with port forwarding and the Liferay server was accessible from the internet (for a test).

So, what's the best way to proceed for what I need? Any gotchas to look out for? Anything I'm overlooking?

I would sincerely appreciate any and all advice.

Thanks!

Mike
Anonymous
RE: Newbie would appreciate some advice
October 23, 2013 8:45 AM
Answer

Anonymous