Combination View Flat View Tree View
Threads [ Previous | Next ]
toggle
Marina Batet
The best way to implement the multichanneling (regular browser vs. mobile)
April 18, 2011 2:46 AM
Answer

Marina Batet

Recent Posts

Hi everyone,

First of all, I'm new to deploying / developing in Liferay, so I apologize in advanced for any stupid questions I may ask. And also, I apologize for my poor english emoticon

We are deploying Liferay for the first time in my organization, developing our web. The main problem we are facing right now is in the separation of structure and content when you have two different versions of the web, one for regular browsers and the other for smartphones.

We have defined our basic structure of content (web content), with its basic fields and such, and what we need now is to know how to display differently this content depending if you are viewing it from a regular browser (or tablet) or from a smartphone.

Ideally, we should be able to separate the presentation (and the structure) according to the layout of the client who is viewing the content (not so ideally, we could separate the presentation according to the client user-agent).

But the really important thing here is, at least, to be able to display some fields and not others (and some portlets and no others) according to the client, but at the same time, sharing our content in the server. We can't just select different themes, I'm assuming that the page template should also be different b/c depending on the client accessing the content we want to show one or other structure (with its different portlets and content fields).

We searched in the forums and documentation and didn't find an alternative that we completly liked. We succesfully installed and tested the extension liferay-multi-device-ext, but it only applies to the theme, and, as I said, I guess that we would need to also apply different page templates, and not only a different theme.