Foren

jsp:useBean only works partially

Marc Heimann, geändert vor 10 Jahren.

jsp:useBean only works partially

New Member Beiträge: 21 Beitrittsdatum: 20.02.13 Neueste Beiträge
Hello,

I'm still a beginner and this is what I try to do: I want to pass data to a jsp using a custom java class i.e. a class that is not created with the help of service builder but by myself. The reason is that I have javascript code that dynamically creates a table (varialbe height, width, content). Now I need to be able to load saved data. I've written a small portlet (attached) which produces the same behavior as the original project.

custom class

public class SaveData
{
	String dataStr;
	public void saveData( String d ) { this.dataStr = d; }
	public String getData( String location ) { return location + ": " + this.dataStr; }
};

part of view.jsp

<jsp:usebean id="testBean" class="com.portlet.SaveData" scope="page">
	&lt;%
		out.println( testBean.getData( "jsp" ));
	%&gt;
</jsp:usebean>

part of MVC portlet

public void saveFormData( ActionRequest request, ActionResponse response )
throws IOException, PortletException
{
	SaveData sd = new SaveData();
	sd.saveData( ParamUtil.getString( request, "someFormData" ) );
	System.out.println( sd.getData( "portlet" ) );
	request.setAttribute( "testBean", sd );
}

The strange thing is that I'm able to call the getData() method in view.jsp, but the saved data is lost showing me "jsp: null". Yet, if I typed in "abc", the System.out.println will correctly bring up "portlet: abc". My guess is that I don't use the id "testBean" correctly and a new instance is created.
thumbnail
Mika Koivisto, geändert vor 10 Jahren.

RE: jsp:useBean only works partially (Antwort)

Liferay Legend Beiträge: 1519 Beitrittsdatum: 07.08.06 Neueste Beiträge
The problem is you have scope set to page. That means that it's only limited to that jsp. Try using request as scope.
Marc Heimann, geändert vor 10 Jahren.

RE: jsp:useBean only works partially