Foren

How can I index outside websites

Paige Lowe, geändert vor 9 Jahren.

How can I index outside websites

Junior Member Beiträge: 42 Beitrittsdatum: 11.11.14 Neueste Beiträge
Hi, I've tried to get help with this project before, but I haven't always been the best at explaining it, so I'll try again with as much detail as I can. I'm still pretty new at Liferay, and although I've tried to read as much of the documentation as I can, I'll admit I'm still confused about a lot of things.

What I'm trying to do: Index a non-liferay website without using the liferay sdk (I can't access it for long and complex reasons) for 6.2. Basically I have a nonliferay webpage that has a lot of articles on it, and I'd like those articles to show up on liferay. I've already got a crawler that can read the pages and get their content, but I'm not sure how to put that content into Liferay's search index. Most of the examples seem to be based on custom assets in liferay which, if I understand things correctly, means using the SDK (or maybe finding some workaround).

Questions
Can I create a custom asset type without the sdk? I can't use the wizard that usually links custom code (if I understand it correctly) to liferay, so is it still possible to get the entries into the lucene index using SearchEngineUtil? To do that, would I need to use soap to get things like user and company id?

Alternatively, if I can't use those methods, could I circumvent liferay entirely and add things directly to the lucene index? What fields would be absolutely necessary for it to appear in the search engine (I'm guessing it needs things like title or company id, but does it need a portlet id or create date? Does it need fields I wouldn't normally think of since they stay under the hood?)

Since this is an outside webpage and not a custom portlet, do I still need to create my own asset type? Could I piggyback on an already existing type like web asset? Can I even create an asset type without the sdk?