Foros de discusión

How Liferay SSO works on external systems?

Gwowen Fu, modificado hace 9 años.

How Liferay SSO works on external systems?

Expert Mensajes: 315 Fecha de incorporación: 27/12/10 Mensajes recientes
Hi,

I am new to SSO and want to know more about how SSO works with external systems.

From http://nxcgroup.com/Products/Liferay/Single-Sign-On:
Single Sign On (SSO) in Liferay is a method to allow users to access multiple related but independent software systems while only needing to authenticate once in Liferay.

According to that, does that mean once I logged in to Liferay, click on any external link that goes to a system that uses the same SSO server, I don't have to login in again?

Does this external link need to pass authentication information? If yes, then it is not true that user is only authenticated once. In that case, each external system we want to do SSO, we need to pass authentication information for that system to authenticate the user again.

Could someone help?

Thansk!
Gwowen
thumbnail
Vilmos Papp, modificado hace 9 años.

RE: How Liferay SSO works on external systems?

Liferay Master Mensajes: 529 Fecha de incorporación: 21/10/10 Mensajes recientes
Basically Liferay can work with several SSO solutions, where the user to log into Liferay, authenticates to the SSO server, then the SSO server creates a session when the user navigates to other systems, a valid session for him will be available because of the former login, and no additional login is needed. That's it in a nutshell.

Vilmos Papp:
Basically Liferay can work with several SSO solutions, where the user to log into Liferay, authenticates to the SSO server, then the SSO server creates a session when the user navigates to other systems, a valid session for him will be available because of the former login, and no additional login is needed. That's it in a nutshell.

Hi Vilmos,