Foros de discusión

Creating a web content portal that always stays at top of browser window

Nick Lindberg, modificado hace 12 años.

Creating a web content portal that always stays at top of browser window

Junior Member Mensajes: 28 Fecha de incorporación: 5/01/12 Mensajes recientes
Happy friday!

So first off, I've searched extensively for this and I apologize if the answer is either simple or has eluded me simply because I don't know what to search for. Here is what I'm trying to do. (Mind you, I'm a C/C++ modeling/simulator programmer who has picked up HTML/Javascript/Liferay at a whim here in the last 2 months because our small non-profit company needs a new website... so bear with me.)

I have a page with a 2 column (30/70) layout. I have a navigation bar in the first column (30%), with anchor links to content in the 2nd column (70%) but the navigation portlet is maybe, lets say, 10 lines of text, whereas the content in the right column is hundreds of text-- so naturally when you scroll down, the navigation bar disappears almost immediately.

I am trying to figure out how to keep the navigation web content portal to always stay at the top of the browser window. For example, when I click on a link currently it will scroll the entire page down to the portion of content containing the anchor, as it should-- but this gets rid of the navigation portlet and I'd like to kind of keep it there.

I've seen webpages before that have figured this out (or at least I think I have) where the navigation portal (or in non-liferay sites, navigation "bar") kind of floats down with you as you scroll or jump down the page, and that's what I'm trying to figure out.