Forums de discussion

Why use serveResource to download a resource... ?

Sir Seto, modifié il y a 10 années.

Why use serveResource to download a resource... ?

New Member Publications: 2 Date d'inscription: 17/07/13 Publications récentes
Hi,

I'm new in the portlet's world, and I don't understand something despite a lot of researches...
I know why and how we have to use Ajax with serveResource in portlets, but I don't understand why I should use serveResource to offer a download.

If I want to propose a download (for exemple a PDF file), if the file is into the portlet application, I can make a URL to the file (with getContextPath). If it's an external file, I just can integrate the direct URL (like http://www.website.com/myfile.pdf).

Is it correct ? So what's the interest to use something more complex, with serveResource ? I'm sure I pass next to something important that will explain that...

Thanks for your help !

P.S. : This is the exemple I find to download a resource with serveResource, and the reason that I find not easy to use serveResource to download a resource :
public void serveResource(...)...{
File file = new File(getInitParameter("uploadFolder")
+ File.separator + request.getResourceID());
OutputStream outStream = response.getPortletOutputStream();
if (!file.exists() || !file.canRead()) {
outStream.write("<i>Unable to find the specified file</i>".getBytes());
}
else {
FileInputStream inStream = new FileInputStream(file);
response.setProperty("Content-disposition",
"attachment; filename=\"" +
request.getResourceID() + "\"");
byte[] buffer = new byte[1024];
while (true) {
int bytes = inStream.read(buffer);
if (bytes <= 0) {
break;
}
outStream.write(buffer, 0, bytes);
}
}
outStream.flush();
outStream.close();
}
thumbnail
David H Nebinger, modifié il y a 10 années.

RE: Why use serveResource to download a resource... ? (Réponse)

Liferay Legend Publications: 14917 Date d'inscription: 02/09/06 Publications récentes
Sir Seto: