Fórumok

ServiceBuilder and JPA

Martin Straus, módosítva 11 év-val korábban

ServiceBuilder and JPA

New Member Bejegyzések: 19 Csatlakozás dátuma: 2012.07.06. Legújabb bejegyzések
I've been working with Liferay for a few months now, and I need to ask this: why does Liferay use its own, propietary persistence framework (ServiceBuilder) instead of something standard, such as JPA?

I understand that under the hood, ServiceBuilder uses Hibernate, which means that migrating wouldn't be difficult at all, so I don't get it... why reinvent the wheel? I find myself mapping Liferay tables to my own implementations of JPA entities just to avoid ServiceBuilder. Which, frankly, renders most of the ServiceBuilder stack irrelevant.

Could someone please enlighten me?
thumbnail
David H Nebinger, módosítva 11 év-val korábban

RE: ServiceBuilder and JPA

Liferay Legend Bejegyzések: 14916 Csatlakozás dátuma: 2006.09.02. Legújabb bejegyzések
See my comment in the post here.

Basically it's architectural... When you're creating a stand alone web application, you can put all of your hibernate/jpa access in there and it works. There are no interdependencies because it is, well, a standalone application.

In the portal world, we don't think like that. We don't create one portlet that has the entire web application managed inside of it. Instead we create separate portlets, where each portlet (should) do one thing (or a small list of things) and do them really well. These portlets tend to have some dependencies, such as accessing the same data and needing access to shared logic.