留言板

Liferay methodology

jim beam,修改在11 年前。

Liferay methodology

New Member 帖子: 3 加入日期: 13-4-21 最近的帖子
Hi all,

I am new to Liferay and I am wondering how I should properly utilize the framework in my situation.
My goal is to be able to add and manage new portal users, customers and products.
One or more users belong to a particular customer.
Each customer can have products associated with it.

The portal admin should be able to perform CRUD operations on customers, users and products.

My current legacy database has existing tables for customers, users and products.
As far as I understand I will have to use the liferay users_ table and link my existing content to it.
What is the correct approach... Should I create separate portlets for managing users, customers and products, or one for all of them? Or should I extend an existing Liferay portlet/plugin?

Should I use the Service Builder to generate new customers and products tables and then import the legacy content to them or is it better (and possible) to use the existing legacy tables and map them to objects (and how would that happen).

Please give me some insights so I can use the framework properly...

Thanks in advance!
thumbnail
Jack Bakker,修改在11 年前。

RE: Liferay methodology

Liferay Master 帖子: 978 加入日期: 10-1-3 最近的帖子
Hey Jim

I have web systems where there are minimum two(2) databases: Liferay's ('lportal') and what I've been calling a business database ('biz').

Liferay handles organizations and users quite well on its own tho I often create relationships between 'lportal' entities and 'biz' entities keying on, for org and user entities: organizationid or screenname(a.k.a. username).

For products (and shopping?) there is a Liferay shopping cart portlet tho I haven't used it and instead have put my shoppingcart entities in the 'biz' database.