Forums

Home » Liferay Sync

Combination View Flat View Tree View
Threads [ Previous | Next ]
toggle
Alex Pline
Changing permissions on documents uploaded by sync
September 13, 2012 6:45 AM
Answer

Alex Pline

Rank: New Member

Posts: 3

Join Date: February 2, 2011

Recent Posts

When I use Liferay Sync for uploading documents to a document library the default permissions include the Add Discussion and View for the Guest role. Since the use case is for these documents to be available only to logged in users (either via a document library portlet or via search), I would like the all default permissions to exclude the Guest role. Is it possible to change the default permissions for synced documents?

Default permissions:
Attachment

Attachments: default_sync_permissions.png (40.9k)
Michael Young
RE: Changing permissions on documents uploaded by sync
September 19, 2012 4:53 PM
Answer

Michael Young

LIFERAY STAFF

Rank: Liferay Master

Posts: 843

Join Date: August 4, 2004

Recent Posts

The default permissons are the same as those when you add a file through the web interface. So if you change the default permissions there, sync should use the same.
Ivan Ivanov
RE: Changing permissions on documents uploaded by sync
November 13, 2013 11:12 PM
Answer

Ivan Ivanov

Rank: New Member

Posts: 3

Join Date: September 3, 2012

Recent Posts

How can I change the default persmissions on liferay sync? When I upload a file the permissions are exactly the opposite of the shown above: the files are not shown to the Guest role, but I want them to be public. I tried changing permissions from the web interface, but the files are still not visible. Please help!
Dennis Ju
RE: Changing permissions on documents uploaded by sync
November 15, 2013 10:03 AM
Answer

Dennis Ju

LIFERAY STAFF

Rank: Regular Member

Posts: 139

Join Date: September 30, 2010

Recent Posts

Hi Ivan,

The behavior of permissions on uploaded files has changed since the last post. Any file uploaded to the Guest site will have guest permissions. Files uploaded to sites will have view permissions for site members only, and files uploaded to your personal site will only be viewable by the user.

You should be able to change the permissions from the web interface after uploading. After selecting the Guest role's view permission on a file, what happens when a public user tries to view the link?