Combination View Flat View Tree View
Threads [ Previous | Next ]
toggle
Ravi Bhaj
how to call serveResource() from liferay scheduler?
October 31, 2012 4:51 AM
Answer

Ravi Bhaj

Recent Posts

I have a usecase "There are 10 portlets, each has a serveResource() implementation to produce specific data. Create a liferay scheduler which runs and invoke these serveResource() to read the data. Such read data is E-mail'd to stakeholders."

I am new to Liferay and I tried few approaches.

1. Wrote a Java HttpClient to call the serveResource URL (hardcoded for development) and Later scheduler will call the Java HTTP Client. When I copy/paste the serveResource URL directly in a browser, I can see a download box coming (when I have already logged in. Otherwise ask for login and later I see the download box). With this approach I faced authentication issues and the serveResource URL gets redirected. When copy pasted the redirected URL it takes me to dashboard page (Again if I have logged in session otherwise will ask for a login). I wasn't able to hit and read the data from serveResourceURL.

2. Scheduler job directly calling the serverResource URL. Scheduler Job being a Java class, I wanted to programatically call serveResource URL, read the data and later send email. I think this is not possible as we can not programmatically call serveResource URL/method from java class. Also client programm will not have access to ResourceRequest and ResourceResponse objects to call serveResource()

3. Wrote a REST API to call serveResource(). And later the REST API can be called from a scheduler job. The serveResource() has a return type void and I write some data to ResourceResponse object. For this I have created a Portlet Project and my portlet class looks like this.....

@Path("/RestPortlet")
public class RestPortlet extends MVCPortlet {

@GET
@Override
public void serveResource(ResourceRequest resourceRequest,
ResourceResponse resourceResponse) throws IOException,
PortletException {