toggle
kujah legend
Help with hooks please.
November 22, 2011 7:27 AM
Answer

kujah legend

Recent Posts

Hello all,

I have been trying to modify the message boards portlet by giving it a thread expiry function via Hooks.

My liferay is connected to an Oracle (10g) database and I have modified the MBThread table to add an extra column (expiryDate). The portal definitely takes data from the oracle database.

I am struggling to discover the way to actually write the date values back into my new column and hoping someone could provide some guidance.

I've been looking around the forums and trying various things but as I am new to Liferay and portlet development my progress is very little.

When looking through the liferay source, there seems to be numerous classes (LocalService, Service, Persistance, etc etc) which become involved. However, I am struggling to follow the flow of the data (how we get from pressing the "publish" button on the thread to writing the values into the database).

Most examples i've come across seem to be of extensions (which is why i'm wondering if trying to use a hook is the correct method). And there doesn't seem to be any comprehensive tutorial on hooks when it comes to stuff involving database modifications.

All help is appreciated!

Thanks!

P.S I am using Liferay 6.0.6, Tomcat6, Oracle 10g
Ranvijay Singh
RE: Help with hooks please.
November 22, 2011 8:49 AM
Answer

Ranvijay Singh

Recent Posts

Hi,
Have you check this article for interaction with database. As modifying a table,requires re-generating service classes by using service builder xml file. Also check expando concept for extending liferay table.
Thanks,
Nagendra Kumar Busam
November 22, 2011 10:00 AM
Answer

Nagendra Kumar Busam

Recent Posts

Please check the attachment & let us know about your response
Attachment

Attachments: 2011-11-22_2327.png (41.3k)
kujah legend
November 22, 2011 10:36 AM
Answer

kujah legend

Recent Posts

Hello,

Thanks both for response.