DEFINING DIGITAL: CONCEPTS

什么是数字化战略?

数字化战略是将数字化技术应用于业务模式中,形成新差异化的业务能力。在不久的将来,所有的业务战略都将转化成数字化战略。

发展中的业务战略定义

数字化战略侧重于使用技术改善业务性能,无论这是否意味着创建新的产品或重塑当前流程。它为企业使用技术创建新的竞争优势以及实现这些变化指明了方向。这通常包括业务模式的变化,因为新技术使创新公司可以提供以前无法提供的服务。

如今,技术与业务的集成不仅体现在硬件或软件方面。随着数字化技术的普及,企业将进一步进行数字化转型,最终数字化战略和业务战略将融为一体。目前,使用术语“数字化战略”集中力量来支持数字化技术倡议仍然有帮助。

重要的是请牢记数字化战略是概念也是事物——也就是说,数字化战略最终应该引导我们创建具体的计划或蓝图。虽然您可以不断改变您所追求的具体战略,但也应该明确数字化技术为您企业带来的意义。

举例来说,数字化战略(最终目标)是将您企业已经开发并内部使用的基本办公软件转换成赚钱的工具。首先,您设计一个战略(计划),封装成一个移动应用程序卖给个人用户,然后,您意识到如果把它卖给企业融入他们自己的移动应用程序,将产生更大的价值。您的战略(最终目标)没有改变,但是您的战略(计划)发生了变化。改变您的数字化战略的指导思想将为您的企业带来重大的改变或对其进行重新定位,但理想情况下,具体步骤将有更多的灵活性,您可以根据需要进行更改。

top curve

数字化战略需要成为业务战略的核心。

bottom curve

数字化转型背景下的数字化战略

有一种趋势在探讨 数字化转型与数字化战略互换,虽然这两个术语密切相关,但不属于同一范畴。数字化转型将促使三个方面发生变化:客户体验、运营流程和业务模式。数字化转型需要协调整个组织,并涉及业务文化的改变。

另一方面,数字化战略侧重于技术而不是文化。与数字化战略最相关的是业务模式的变化,并使用技术为企业创建成为 数字化企业所需的功能。制定战略是转型过程中的重要组成部分,并确保以支持业务目标的方式实施技术。

business strategy

数字化战略与IT 战略

相反数字化战略关注需要转型的活动和流程,以便为客户提供更好的服务。

根据埃森哲的报告,数字化战略寻找使用技术进行活动转型,从而转型业务的方法,然而IT战略旨在将转变技术与其他业务隔离开来。传统上,IT战略的流程是基于当前业务方向确定投资哪些技术。相反数字化战略关注需要转型的活动和流程,以便为客户提供更好的服务。然后,寻找技术和战略的正确组合创建这些体验。数字化领导者通过这种战略转变发现新的竞争优势和增长机会。

从什么地方开始着手

怎样创建一个数字化战略?与其问,“我们的数字化战略是什么?”, 一篇来自哈佛商业评论的文章 建议您使用以下五个问题加强对数字化技术的理解:

  1. 数字化技术是否改变了您企业的业务?
  2. 数字化技术如何改善您为企业增加价值的方式?
  3. 数字化技术改变了您的目标客户吗?
  4. 数字化技术会影响您目标客户的价值主张吗?
  5. 数字化技术如何增强您企业的数字化能力,可以把您和竞争对手区分开?

对一些企业来说,这些问题的答案很明显,特别对那些经历过体验中断或来自新数字化对手竞争的企业来说。目的是确定数字化会对您的工作带来怎样的变化,然后,细化您对从广泛的行业趋势到具体价值的理解,这将构成您战略的基础。通过对您企业目标的清晰理解,您可以避免在那些不具备竞争优势的技术上浪费时间和资源。

数字化战略的常见要素

  • 选择合适的领导者 — 这可以说是创建数字化战略中的最重要的部分,但应该在公司的文化、架构和优先级的基础上确定合适的人选。无论公司是否有CEO或任命的首席数字官领导,领导者的影响力需要与数字化战略的范围进行匹配,否则,很难让每个部门完全接受以进行有效的更改。
  • 进攻与防御 — McKinsey公司强调 企业应对数字化业务中的潜在威胁和机会进行分类,然后将这些与自己的目的进行比较。这阐明了主动或防御姿态是否需要指导新的倡议。
  • 采取谨慎的态度 — 数字化战略往往包括一个评估新技术是否会进行补充或为当前的业务带来增长的流程。如果您担心公司在数字化方面已经落后,可能没有仔细研究是否适合您现有战略就匆忙创建一个项目。采取谨慎的态度,您无需在不符合您业务需求和优先项的计划上浪费资源。
  • 前瞻性 — 数字化转型的目标是为数字化业务创建合适的基础。这意味着创建一个组织并根据需要重塑它,以跟上技术和客户期望的变化。数字化战略应该有足够的远见和前瞻性,能够通过数字化经济的变革带动企业,并通过这种方式继续为业务带来数字化优势。

DEFINING DIGITAL: CONCEPTS

What is Digital Strategy?

Digital strategy is the application of digital technologies to business models to form new differentiating business capabilities. In the future, all business strategy will be digital strategy.

Evolving the Definition of Business Strategy

Digital strategy focuses on using technology to improve business performance, whether that means creating new products or reimagining current processes. It specifies the direction an organization will take to create new competitive advantages with technology, as well as the tactics it will use to achieve these changes. This usually includes changes to business models, as new technology makes it possible for innovative companies to provide services that weren’t previously possible.

Today, technology has integrated with business to become something more than hardware or software. As digital technology becomes more pervasive and companies move further in the journey of digital transformation, digital strategy and business strategy will be the same thing. For now, it is still useful to use the term “digital strategy” to focus the effort behind digital initiatives.

It’s important to remember that digital strategy is both a concept and a thing — that is, a digital strategy should eventually lead to the creation of a concrete plan or roadmap. While you can keep changing the specific tactics you’ve decided to pursue, there should also be a clear commitment to your understanding of what digital means for your company.

As an example, say your digital strategy (ultimate goal) is to monetize basic productivity software that your business has already developed and uses internally. At first, you lay out a strategy (plan) to package it as a mobile app and sell it to individual users. Later, you realize that it has more value if you sell it to businesses to incorporate into their own mobile apps. Your strategy (ultimate goal) didn’t change, but your strategy (plan) did. Changing the guiding idea of your digital strategy should amount to a big shift or reorientation for your company, but ideally, the concrete steps will be flexible enough to allow you to pivot as needed.

top curve

Digital strategy needs to become the essence of business strategy.

bottom curve

Digital Strategy in the Context of Digital Transformation

There is a tendency to talk about digital transformation interchangeably with digital strategy. The two terms are closely related, but differ in scope. Digital transformation drives change in three areas: customer experience, operational processes and business models. The process of digital transformation requires coordination across the entire organization, and involves business culture changes.

Digital strategy, on the other hand, focuses on technology, not culture. Digital strategy is most relevant to changes in business models, and uses technology to create the capabilities a company needs to become a digital business. Setting down a strategy is a key component of the transformation process, and ensures that technology is being implemented in a way that supports the business objectives.

business strategy

Digital Strategy vs. IT Strategy

Digital strategy instead looks at the activities and processes that need to be transformed to provide better services for customers.

According to Accenture, digital strategy looks for ways to use technology to transform activity, and therefore business, whereas IT strategy aims to transform technology in isolation from the rest of the business. Traditionally, the process of IT strategy has been to determine which technologies to invest in, based on the current direction of the business. Digital strategy instead looks at the activities and processes that need to be transformed to provide better services for customers. Then, it looks for the right combination of technologies and strategies that can be combined to create these experiences. Digital leaders have found new competitive advantages and opportunities for growth by making this shift in strategy.

Where to Start

How do you build a digital strategy? Rather than asking, “What’s our digital strategy?”, an article from Harvard Business Review suggests using the five following questions to ground your understanding of digital technology:

  1. Does digital technology change the businesses you should be in?
  2. How could digital technology improve the way you add value to the businesses you are in?
  3. Could digital technology change your target customer?
  4. Does digital technology affect the value proposition to your target customer?
  5. How can digital technology enhance the enterprise capabilities that differentiate you from your competition?

To some companies, these questions will have obvious answers, especially those that have already experienced disruption or competition from new digital players. The intention is to identify how digital changes what you do, and then refine your understanding from broad industry trends to specific values that will form the foundation of your strategy. By beginning with a clear understanding of your company’s purpose, you can avoid wasting time and resources implementing technology that doesn’t enable new competitive advantages.

Common Elements of Digital Strategy

  • Choose a Leader — This is arguably the most important part of creating a digital strategy, but choosing the right person will depend on company culture, structure and priorities. Whether companies place leadership with the CEO or an appointed Chief Digital Officer, the leader’s influence will need to match the scope of digital strategy; otherwise, it will be difficult to create the full buy-in from each department necessary to make effective changes.
  • Attack vs. DefendMcKinsey & Company emphasizes that companies would do well to categorize their potential threats and opportunities in digital business, then compare these against their own purpose. This clarifies whether a proactive or defensive stance needs to guide new initiatives.
  • Take a Measured Approach — Digital strategy often incorporates a process for assessing whether new technology will really complement or grow the current business. If you fear that your company is already behind on digital, it can be tempting to rush into a project without looking at how it fits your current strategy. By taking a measured approach, you can avoid wasting resources on initiatives that don’t align with your business’s needs and priorities.
  • Future Proof — The goal of digital transformation is to create an appropriate foundation for digital business. This means creating an organization that can continue to reinvent itself as necessary to keep up with changes in technology and customer expectations. Digital strategy should be visionary enough to carry companies through changes in the digital economy, in a way that continues to bring a digital edge to the business.