DEFINING DIGITAL: CONCEPTS

什么是数字化转型?

数字化转型是重新考虑一种商业模式或业务流程,并考虑到数字化技术的可用性和可负担性的过程。它需要协调整个组织,因为它使用新的技术从根本上改变了业务模式。对于现今的很多企业来说,数字化转型的动力是通过改善客户体验获得更多的竞争优势。

技术进步创建消费者的时代

越来越多的,杰出的客户体验是数字化业务的关键,并且数字化转型的过程应遵循以客户为中心的策略。

根据 Forrester的报告, 在过去的五年里,技术的进步创建了“消费者的时代”,客户可以选择何时及如何与企业进行互动。现在企业不能完全控制他们想要呈现给客户的体验,相反,客户跨接触点期望得到持续性、易于操作和个性化的体验。

这取决于企业能否使用新的技术功能和组织更改来创建适应这些需求的体验。越来越多的、杰出的客户体验是 数字化企业的关键,并且数字化转型的过程应遵循以客户为中心的 数字化战略

数字化转型的关键因素

数字化转型需要使用新的技术,但是成功的转型需要重新定位,不仅仅是在业务的每个部分采用新的技术。

《麻省理工学院斯隆管理评论》已经确定了企业 转型过程的三大重点 应放在:客户体验、操作流程和商业模式。企业还需投资和开发其数字化的功能,这将有助于数字化转型的三个重点。

客户体验

营销软件和数据收集功能的进步,为客户提供更加个性化的数字体验。企业正在通过以下方式转型:

  • 跨渠道管理个性化体验,为客户提供简单无缝的客户体验。
  • 开发数字化产品和服务的新设备,如智能手表。
  • 在每个接触点绘制数据,并使用其提供更有效的个性化设置。

操作流程

这让人容易想起前端客户体验数字化转型的重点,因为这是最引人注目的部分。然而,使用技术重新设计操作系统也对企业成功提供出色体验产生深远影响。

例如,一个客户越快获得软件安装包越容易对企业留下积极的印象,通过客户在网上发送的诊断信息,通过简短的电话沟通了解客正在遇到的具体问题,以便更快地提出解决方案。现在企业正在通过以下方式进行转型:

  • 打破部门和数据之间的壁垒在数字化项目中可以更好地进行协作,如团队里的技术和营销两个部门可以在完全知晓对方进度的情况下进行设计、战略规划和开发。
  • 使用更好的软件功能或创建新的工具实现流程自动化,例如,执行自动购买订单系统来减少文书工作和被拒绝的订单。
  • 基于不断提高的数据详细程度做出战略决定。而不用重用或更改之前的分配过程,例如,领导能够基于真实数据,而不用假设的数据进行决策。

商业模式

通常情况下,新兴产业往往能够对传统企业带来威胁,因为他们勇于使用创新的商业模式和新的技术,而不会被老旧的系统拖累。不采用新技术就无法提供服务和模型建立品牌。新商业模式的示例种类很多,但一般包括:

  • 通过数字化服务使业务范围不断扩大,如玩具公司进行客户在线设计。
  • 客户行为随着新技术的发展而变化。例如,当客户在商店看见一个商品,他们会进行在线搜索查看评价,最终可能在售价最低的地方购买。在某些企业创建的应用程序上,客户可以扫描产品并阅读评价,确保客户最后在改企业平台内购买,而不是在别处。
  • 以数字化优先重建服务,例如,银行为支票兑现、付账单、申请贷款或其他服务创建移动设备应用程序。

参阅:数字化体验平台:旨在为数字化转型而设计

从什么地方开始着手

一个常见的误区是数字化转型通过技术开始也通过技术结束。企业不应该用通过技术投资的增加来简单定义数字化转型。如果企业可以从客户洞察和参与中显著受益,那么客户体验就一定会推动数字化战略转型。

为了在数字化商业中保持竞争力,企业应该着眼于他们现在的定位,并确定把重点放在数字化改造的什么核心元素上。您的企业可以从上文提到的三大重点其中之一开始,从您认为最重要的一点开始着手。

虽然数字化转型没有全面蓝图,但在过去的五年内的最佳实例中总结出了以下结论:

  • 远见+投资——您的企业能走多远取决于您的远见和做出的投资。
  • 数字化策略——着眼于数字化整体,而不是执行单一的技术。
  • 领导层——因为数字化转型需要深入性地组织变化和协调,由业务的高层进行领导是更加有效。
  • 统一业务和技术——打破业务和技术之间的壁垒,齐头并进。随着数字化业务软件需求的增加,业务和技术部门应整合工作并在采用的技术上没有矛盾这一点非常重要。
  • 第三方解决方案——寻找在您薄弱环节具有优势的合作伙伴。建立知识的共享和频繁交流的合作伙伴关系。这可以降低跨多个供应商产生孤立的信息和依赖供应商或时间表所带来的风险。

DEFINING DIGITAL: CONCEPTS

What is Digital Transformation?

Digital transformation is the process of rethinking one’s business model or business process in light of the availability and affordability of digital technology. It requires coordination across the entire organization, since it applies new technologies to fundamentally change the way business is done. For many enterprises today, the driving motivation of digital transformation is the chance to gain competitive advantages by improving customer experience.

Technology Advances Created the Age of the Customer

More and more, exceptional customer experience is a key differentiator in digital business, and the process of digital transformation should be guided by a customer-centric digital strategy.

According to Forrester, technology advances in the past five years have created the “Age of the Customer”, in which consumers choose when and how they interact with businesses. Companies today can’t fully control the experience they want to deliver to customers; instead, customers encounter businesses across many touchpoints with high expectations of consistency, ease of use and personalization.

It is up to businesses to use new technological capabilities and organizational change to create experiences that adapt to these changing needs. More and more, exceptional customer experience is a key differentiator in digital business, and the process of digital transformation should be guided by a customer-centric digital strategy.

Key Elements of Digital Transformation

Digital transformation is enabled by new technology, but successful transformation requires a reorientation that goes beyond the implementation of new technology to reach every part of the business.

MIT Sloan Management Review has identified three pillars of the transformation process for companies to focus on: customer experience, operational processes and business models. Companies also need to invest in and develop their digital capabilities, as this element enables digital transformation in each of the three main pillars.

Customer Experience

Advances in marketing software and data-gathering capabilities allow for better customer insight and greater personalization in digital experiences. Enterprises are pursuing transformation in the following ways:

  • Managing personalized experiences across channels that are easy and seamless for customers to use.
  • Developing digital products and services for new devices, such as smart watches.
  • Drawing in data at every touchpoint and using that to deliver more effective personalization.

Operational Processes

It can be tempting to think of front-end customer experience as the main focus of digital transformation, since that’s the most visible part of the process. However, using technology to redesign operational systems has just as much, if not more, impact on a company’s ability to successfully provide great experiences.

For example, a customer getting their package sooner means a more positive impression of the company, and having a representative already know what specific problems a customer is having, because the product sends diagnostic information over the internet, allows for shorter call times and faster solutions. Companies are successfully transforming operations by:

  • Breaking down departmental and data silos for better collaboration on digital projects, such as including both IT and Marketing on product teams so that both departments are fully informed during the process of design, strategy and development.
  • Automating processes through better software capabilities or with the creation of new tools, such as implementing automated purchase order systems in order to reduce paperwork and rejected orders.
  • Making strategic decisions based on data with increasing levels of detail. Instead of reusing or modifying a previous year's distribution process, for instance, leaders are able to make changes based on real data, rather than assumptions.

Business Models

Often, startups are able to disrupt long-standing brands because they use innovative business models that take advantage of new technology, without being weighed down by legacy systems. Established brands should look to models that offer services that wouldn’t be possible without new technology. Examples of new business models are varied, but can generally include:

  • Expanding the scope of current business through digital services, such as a toy company that crowdsources designs online.
  • Evolving with changes in customer behavior due to new technologies. For instance, when customers see a product in store, they may do an online search order to check reviews and end up purchasing it at a lower price somewhere else. Some businesses have countered this by creating an app that allows customers to scan the product and read the reviews, ensuring that they stay within the business’s platform instead of purchasing elsewhere.
  • Rebuilding services to be digital-first, such as banks that create mobile apps for cashing checks, paying bills, applying for loans or other services.

See Also: Digital Experience Platforms: Designed for Digital Transformation

Where to Start

A common misconception is that digital transformation begins and ends with technology. Companies shouldn’t define digital transformation as simply an increased investment in IT. Customer experience must drive the digital strategy behind transformation if companies are to see significant gains from customer insight and engagement.

To stay competitive in digital business, enterprises should look at where they are now and determine what core elements of digital transformation they need to focus on. Your enterprise may only be able to begin with one of the three pillars mentioned above; what’s important is that you start somewhere.

Though no one has a comprehensive roadmap for digital transformation, the following best practices have emerged over the past five years:

  • Vision + Investment – How far your business can go depends on the reach of your vision and the level of investment you commit to.
  • Digital Strategy – Have a strategy that accounts for the full scope of your vision, rather than the implementation of individual technologies.
  • Leadership – Because digital transformation requires in-depth organizational change and coordination, it is more effective when led from the top layer of the business.
  • Uniting Business and IT – Breaking down the barriers between Business and IT goes hand in hand with operational change. As digital business increases software needs, it will be important for Business and IT to merge their work so there are no conflicts in adapting technology.
  • Third-Party Solutions – Look for partners who have specific strengths in your areas of weakness. Structure relationships as partnerships, with an expectation of knowledge sharing and frequent communication. This mitigates the risk of creating siloed information across multiple vendors and becoming dependent on a vendor's availability or timeline.