DEFINING DIGITAL: CONCEPTS

什么是数字化企业?

数字化企业通过技术在业务模式、客户体验和内部功能中创造新的价值支持核心业务。该术语包括仅限数字化的品牌和通过数字化技术转型业务的传统品牌。

数字化经济的增长

现今,人们通过互联网花更多的钱,这说明业务重心已经转移到数字化收入资源和数字化渠道中。数字化经济的增长使得人们更加熟悉数码产品和服务,推动企业在数字化空间寻求新的竞争优势。

但是数字化企业不仅指在线销售; 根据埃森哲的报告,“数字化企业是在数字化和实体资源的独特组合的基础上构建行业优势。他们拥有其他企业所没有的比较优势。”

参阅:Liferay DXP业务概览:客户体验

数字化企业的共同要素

行业专家对于数字化企业的准确定义有以下几个观点。 Gartner指出 数字化企业可以创建传统企业无法提供的新价值链和业务机会。 McKinsey强调 “数字化不应该被视为具体的事物,更多的是指做事的方式”。

大多数数字化企业满足以下观点中的一个或多个;他们专注于在新的领域为核心业务创造价值,或使用数字化技术以传统模式无法实现的方式推动发展、收入和性能。

对于企业来说,查阅数字化企业的常见要素并与自己的业务模式进行比较,可能会有所帮助。以下是区分数字化与传统流程的因素。

  • 使用现有技术节省支出、收集数据并提供更好的客户体验。数字化企业专注于技术带来的竞争优势,无论是减少支出还是为客户提供新的价值。
  • 接受 数字化转型的概念和所需进行的文化转变。数字化服务的实施和管理可能需要进行组织重组,特别是创建新角色将给予IT更多的战略决定权。
  • 探索新的业务模式,将客户体验放在数字化战略的中心。人们通常愿意花更多的钱体验卓越的客户体验,这使其成为数字化经济中的关键优势。这种高度关注客户满意度的业务模式将最终以数字化服务为中心,因为数字化越来越成为人们喜欢的体验。
top curve

数字化企业正在改变企业使用和思考技术的方式,将技术从配角转换成创新、收入和市场增长中的主角。

bottom curve

数字化企业与电子商务

数字化业务更多地关注技术可以为企业创建怎样新的价值和体验,区分企业并在同行竞争间提供优势。

数字化企业与电子商务的区别在于,电子商务通常使现有业务模式保持完整,仅使用技术来提高效率或消除冗余信息。让客户在线填写信用卡申请表减少了纸张应用过程效率低下的问题,但不会提供新的或不同的体验。数字化业务更多地关注技术可以为企业创建怎样新的价值和体验,区分企业并在同行竞争间提供优势。

数字化企业的示例

Uber利用广泛采用的智能手机,并采用让他们维持相对较低的固定资产的业务模式。传统的出租车公司必须持有并保养车辆,以及为招聘和管理员工提供经费;电子商务模式将允许客户在线预约出租车并查看它的过往记录,但最基本的体验保持不变。

Uber以其数字化业务巩固其地位,因为他的核心是互联网大规模连接人和司机的平台,同时创建并改善以前人们可用的体验。

Netflix 是一个从电子商务转向数字化业务公司的很好的例子。起初,Netflix利用技术管理库存系统、邮寄DVD,为用户提供更加方便的体验,但最终却与电影租赁商店非常相似。

然而,一旦它为客户提供了视频点播的选择,就会改变人们观看电影和电视媒体的方式。如果没有现在大多数消费者拥有的广泛的互联网接入,将无法实现随时随地消费电影和电视节目。

Disney以其传统和数字化技术相结合的方式改善其主题公园的体验。MagicBand(一种使用RFID和无线电与公园中传感器连接的腕带),旨在改善主题公园体验的五个关键因素:增加吸引力、酒店住宿、在餐厅用餐、拍照片发给朋友或家人以及购买商品作为纪念品。

客户在游园前几周会收到 MagicBand,可以使用它进入公园、购买食物或商品、预定景点和实时查看等待时间。在游玩结束时,给游客带来一种在数字化和实体之间轻松转换的体验。

从哪里开始着手

数字化企业的许多特性和数字化转型的概念重叠,在运营系统和业务模式中使用以客户为中心指导实施数字化技术。数字化企业是最终目标,数字化转型是企业为实现这一目标所经历的过程。

Gartner还确定了建立数字化企业的 六个关键步骤 。因为数字化企业需要深层次的组织变革,需要完成的工作将会很多。明确确定优先事项和里程碑目标将有助于充分利用在线提供的建议和最佳实践。

DEFINING DIGITAL: CONCEPTS

What is Digital Business?

Digital businesses use technology to create new value in business models, customer experiences and the internal capabilities that support its core operations. The term includes both digital-only brands and traditional players that are transforming their businesses with digital technologies.

Growth of the Digital Economy

Today, people are spending more money online, which has shifted business emphasis to digital sources of revenue and digital channels. The growth of the digital economy has made people more familiar with digital products and services, which has driven companies to seek new competitive advantages in the digital space.

But digital business has evolved into more than selling online; according to Accenture, “Digital businesses create competitive edges based on unique combinations of digital and physical resources. They do things that others cannot and in ways that build comparative advantage.”

See Also: Liferay DXP Business Overview: Customer Experience

Common Elements of a Digital Business

There are several views on the exact definition of digital business from industry experts. Gartner says that digital business is the creation of new value chains and business opportunities that traditional businesses cannot offer. McKinsey emphasizes that “digital should be seen less as a thing and more a way of doing things.”

Most digital businesses fit one or both of these points; they focus on creating value at new frontiers for their core business, or they use digital technology to drive growth, revenue and performance in ways that were impossible with traditional models.

It may be helpful for companies to review common elements of digital business and compare them against their own business models. These are some of the trends that differentiate digital from traditional processes.

  • Use existing technologies to cut costs, gather data and provide a better customer experience. Digital businesses focus on the competitive advantages that technology gains them, whether that’s reducing overhead or providing new value to their customers.
  • Embrace the concept of digital transformation and the cultural shifts that requires. The implementation and management of digital services can necessitate organizational restructuring, especially as new roles are created and IT is given greater input into strategic decisions.
  • Explore new business models that put customer experience at the center of digital strategy. People are often willing to spend more for an exceptional customer experience, making it a key differentiator in the digital economy. Business models that align with this hyper focus on customer satisfaction will eventually center on digital services, since digital is increasingly the experience that people prefer.
top curve

Digital business is changing the way organizations use and think about technology, moving technology from a supporting player to a leading player in innovation, revenue and market growth.

bottom curve

Digital Business vs. E-Business

Digital business focuses more on how technology allows companies to create new value and experiences that differentiate companies and give them a competitive edge over their peers.

Digital business is distinct from e-business in that e-business typically leaves existing business models intact, merely using technology to gain efficiency or eliminate redundancies. Having customers fill out a credit card application form online reduces the inefficiencies of a paper application process, but it doesn’t provide an experience that is new or different. Digital business focuses more on how technology allows companies to create new value and experiences that differentiate companies and give them a competitive edge over their peers.

Examples of Digital Business

Uber capitalizes on the widespread adoption of smartphones and utilizes a business model that allows them to maintain relatively low capital assets. A traditional taxi company must own and maintain vehicles, as well as contribute overhead to recruiting and managing employees; an e-business version would allow customers to schedule a taxi online and perhaps view past trips, but the essential experience would remain the same.

Uber cements its place as a digital business because it is, at its core, a platform that connects people and drivers at a massive scale through the internet, while creating an experience that improves on what was previously available to people.

Netflix is a good example of a company that switched from e-business to digital business. Originally, Netflix used technology to manage an inventory system and mail people DVDs, providing an experience that was more convenient, but ultimately fairly similar to movie rental stores.

However, once it gave customers the option to stream video on demand, it disrupted itself and transformed the way that people view film and television media. The ability to consume movies and TV shows at any time or place is impossible without the widespread internet access that most consumers have today.

Disney is one traditional business that has embraced digital technology in order to enhance experiences in its theme parks. The goal of its MagicBand, a wristband that uses RFID and radio to connect with sensors in the park, is to improve five key elements that are part of every Park experience: going to an attraction, staying in a hotel, dining at a restaurant, taking a photo and sending it to friends or family, and buying merchandise as a souvenir.

Guests receive the MagicBand a few weeks before the visit and can use it to enter the park, buy food or merchandise, reserve attractions, and watch real time data on wait times. At the end of the day, guests have an experience that moves fluidly between digital and physical.

Where to Start

Many characteristics of digital business overlap with the concept of digital transformation, which uses a customer-centric focus to guide the implementation of digital technologies in operational systems and business models. Digital business is the end goal, and digital transformation is the process that companies undergo in order to get there.

Gartner has also identified six key steps to building a digital business. Because digital business requires deep organizational change, the work that needs to be done can quickly become unwieldy. Clearly identifying priorities and milestones will help businesses make the most of the advice and best practices available online today.