B2b Commerce | 7 Minute Read

选择将B2B放在首位的平台,缩短您产品的上市时间。

作者:
Christine Reyes
Image

在当今B2B商务竞争中,企业需要什么?

很多公司通过试点项目开始启动数字化商务体验,这些项目通常由原生遗留系统或轻量级平台构建,旨在满足项目最低要求。随着B2B数字化商务的普及程度不断增加,新的业务模式(如直接面向消费者或通过线上营销)已经出现,制造商和分销商已经发现他们的原生系统已经无法支持新的策略和措施。

为了保持竞争力并利用这些新兴策略的优势,公司面临选择哪一个作为支持其长期计划的平台。不仅如此,他们还需要快速、经济地推出这些新策略,以免错过赢得和保留B2B买家寻找现代化体验的机会。制造商和分销商应该从何处开始解决这一艰巨的任务?

B2B商务领域的领导者已经轻松和高效地构建他们的解决方法,这也将成为B2B数字化商务的常态。其他公司为了迎头赶上,必须寻求以B2B为首的商务技术,该技术可以让买家转向其他卖家之前,允许他们激活这些新策略。 

B2B vs B2C — 选择B2C平台所遇到的问题是什么?

每个人都在讨论为B2B买家提供类似B2C体验的重要性。所以,在开始新的数字化商务计划时,制造商或经销商为什么不从看起来已经提供数字化商务体验的领先B2B供应商那里开始搜索呢?

当B2B买家想要类似B2C的体验时,了解他们的内在想法非常重要。他们喜欢像Amazon这样易于使用的卖家,可以从其有效的搜索功能得到个性化建议。Amazon之所以能做到这一点,因为该公司投入时间了解客户购买产品的方式,并针对书籍或家具等创建不同类别的自定义体验。

为了实现相同的体验,制造商和经销商需要培养对买家体验的相同理解,这并不像将亚马逊使用的推荐功能应用于B2B网站上那样简单。如果它不能有效地帮助买家完成工作,那么客户将感到不满意。

除此之外,B2B买家需求超过了他们在产品页面上看到的范围,例如代表客户而非个人购买;大量订单;自动进行定期补货;合同报价;报价和协商定价等。这些功能是B2C无需担心的,需要经过思考后将其添加到B2C技术中(如果已经添加的话)。
如果体验不能有效地帮助买家完成工作,那么就不会获得满意的客户。
根据一项 2019 报告, 45%的B2B卖家因为低质量的商务体验而错失客户,这表明许多卖家正在为其B2B客户投资无效的系统和技术。 该数字可能归因于很多企业正在使用B2C解决方案,并没有使用专为B2B量身定制的解决方案。

尽管很多B2C供应商声称他们已经深入了解B2B并为其量身定制解决方案,但根据更深入的评估表示B2C商务工具不是为B2B需求所设计的,因此不能提供B2B所需的功能。借助B2C解决方案需要在量身定制方面进行投资,缩短产品上市时间,增加买方满意度。

将B2B放在首位的具体含义是什么?

以下将B2B需求分为两部分。

核心功能

首先是核心功能性,鉴于B2B买家在购买条款和工作流程方面有特殊的要求,一个将B2B放在首位的平台应支持具有自带常见B2B销售模型,而不是要求卖方通过自定义获取这些模型。 每段自定义代码都会随着时间的推移增加维护成本。如果您是希望满足客户期望的B2B卖家,您真的有余力将IT资源用于构建和维护数字化商务解决方案的功能吗?您的公司在此上花费的每一个小时,都将推迟您将合适的解决方案投入市场一小时。

Image

B2B体验管理

第二部分需要考虑的是体验。B2B数字化商务专注于已知用户、长期的合作伙伴关系以及涉及销售和服务的多方联系。而B2C体验优先考虑匿名用户的随意浏览、个人用户而不是B2B买方代表账户购买的频率。对于B2C而言,很多有效的方法都不适用于B2B,而且尝试将B2C功能调整为B2B解决方案的方法将带来更长的实施时间和更多的自定义工作。

例如,由人工智能驱动的产品推荐功能已成为当今的流行功能。很多B2B卖家很快在其产品页面上添加了类似Amazon的“产品推荐”之类的功能。这些设计意在鼓励用户冲动时将商品添加到他们的购物车中,从而增加销售。然而,很多B2B买家对他们想要购买的商品无法当时下决定,也不会对“产品推荐”的建议作出反应。相反,他们可能会喜欢可以帮助他们在搜索时找到合适产品的建议。例如,带有深入产品信息(如产品依赖性)的建议,或围绕他们行业所推荐的产品。

可以解决此类问题并为此类B2B体验构建支持的技术解决方案,可以让公司向差异化体验更进一步,从而节省时间,也节省确定痛点所需的研究时间。

另外, 那些已经采用CX解决方案的公司发现, “B2C CX管理工具 无法解决B2B领域中多联系人体验复杂性产品越复杂,销售代表或在线客户为B2B买家提供的价值越高,他们通常会因为喜欢个人风格而进行长期购买。这就需要一种解决方案,让销售和服务团队将数字化商务网站作为针对客户环境的工具,主动响应客户需求。

这需要一种专注的、专门的B2B-First的方法处理这些复杂性,与技术解决方案合作的公司将从快速呈现这些体验中受益,并避免强制安装B2C工具。
B2C CX 管理工具无法解决B2B领域中多联系人体验的复杂性。
Image

将B2B放在首位: 最高效缩短上市时间的方法

过去几年里,B2B数字化商务的快速发展令人兴奋,对于那些即将涉足数字化商务的公司来说,仍然有很大的增长空间。仍然有很多B2B卖家视图满足现代化数字化商务网站的最低要求。这意味着仍然有超越竞争对手的空间。那些先完成的公司会赢得时间,用策略和功能来提升竞争优势。而那些还在观望的公司,将会在一年或很长时间内,迎来更多的竞争对手。

 减少上市时间的最有效方法是选择在核心功能和体验管理方面优先考虑B2B需求的供应商。构建不以B2B为核心的技术方法将增加风险,即随着公司策略的发展,更多的B2B需求将得不到满足,每次功能改进所花费的时间更长。为了在短期和长期都保持相关性,强烈推荐B2B卖方考虑将B2B放在首位的策略。

您面临的商务挑战是什么?

了解Liferay如何帮您开发B2B线上收益

Liferay DXP 7.4 is now available!
Power your digital transformation with these powerful new capabilities
B2b Commerce | 7 Minute Read

Choose a B2B-First Platform to Decrease Your Time to Market

Written By
Christine Reyes
Image

What Do Companies Need in Order to Compete in B2B Commerce Today?

Many companies started their first foray into B2B digital commerce with pilot projects, often built with homegrown systems or on lightweight, legacy platforms that were designed to support the bare minimum requirements. As the popularity of digital commerce for B2B has grown, new business models such as Direct to Consumer or selling through online marketplaces have emerged and Manufacturers and Distributors have found that their homegrown systems aren’t capable of supporting these new strategic initiatives.

In order to stay competitive and capitalize on the advantages of these emerging strategies, companies are faced with choosing a new platform that will support their long-term plans. Not only that, they need to launch these new strategies quickly and affordably, in order to not miss their window to win and retain B2B buyers looking for more modern experiences. Where should Manufacturers and Distributors start this daunting task?

The time to ask this question was yesterday. Leaders in B2B commerce are already establishing new levels of ease and efficiency that will become the norm in B2B digital commerce. In order to catch up, companies must seek out B2B-first commerce technology that allows them to activate these new strategies before their buyers move on to other sellers.

B2B vs B2C — What’s the Problem with Choosing a B2C Platform?

Everyone talks about the importance of offering a B2C-like experience for B2B buyers, right? So, when beginning a new digital commerce initiative, why wouldn’t a Manufacturer or a Distributor start their search with the leading B2C vendors who seem well-proven in delivering digital commerce experiences?

It’s important to understand what B2B buyers mean when they say they want B2C-like experiences. What they like about a seller such as Amazon is how easy it is to use, from its effective search capabilities to its personalized recommendations. Amazon is able to do this so well because the company has invested time in understanding the way its customers buy products, with tailored experiences for different categories such as books or furniture.

To achieve the same quality of experience, Manufacturers and Distributors need to develop the same understanding of their buyers. It’s not as simple as taking a recommendation feature that Amazon uses and applying it to a B2B site. If it doesn’t meaningfully help buyers do their jobs, then it won’t result in satisfied customers.

On top of that, B2B buyers have needs that go beyond what they see on a product page, such as purchasing on behalf of an account rather than as an individual; higher volume orders; regular replenishments that could be automated; contract-pricing; quotes and negotiated pricing; and so on. These are capabilities that B2C doesn’t need to worry about, and thus are added as an afterthought to B2C technologies (if they’re added at all).
If an experience doesn’t meaningfully help buyers do their jobs, then it won’t result in satisfied customers.
According to a 2019 survey, 45% of B2B sellers have lost a customer due to the quality of their commerce experience, a sign that many sellers are investing in ineffective systems and technologies for their B2B buyers. This figure may be attributed to the fact that businesses are using B2C solutions rather than ones that have been tailored for B2B needs first.

While many of these B2C vendors claim that they’ve done the work of understanding B2B and tailoring their B2C features for it, deeper evaluations show that B2C commerce tools are simply not designed for B2B requirements and therefore cannot be expected to deliver what’s needed for B2B success. Using a B2C solution will require investment in customization, thus slowing down the time to market and increasing the risk that buyers will move on to other sellers that met their expectations faster.

What Do We Mean by B2B-First?

There are two parts to thinking about B2B needs.

Core Functionality

The first is core functionality. Given that B2B buyers have unique requirements around their buying terms and workflows, a B2B-first platform should support common B2B selling models with out-of-the-box capabilities, rather than requiring sellers to support these through customization. Every piece of customized code adds to the cost of maintenance over time. If you’re a B2B seller trying to catch up with customer expectations, can you really afford to spend your IT resources on building and maintaining the table-stakes features of your digital commerce solution? Every hour your company spends on this is an hour delay in getting to market with an adequate digital commerce site.

Image

B2B Experience Management

The second part to consider is experience. B2B digital commerce focuses on known users, long relationships, and multi-contact journeys involving sales and service teams. B2C experiences prioritize casual browsing for anonymous, individual users, rather than on efficiency for B2B buyers purchasing on behalf of accounts. A lot of what makes sense for B2C doesn’t work for B2B, and trying to tweak B2C features for B2B situations will result in a longer implementation time and more customization to support.

For example, AI-driven product recommendations are a popular feature today, and many B2B sellers are quick to put recommendations like Amazon’s “Also-Boughts” on their product pages. Those are designed to encourage an individual to add an item to their cart on impulse, increasing the average order value. However, many B2B buyers don’t have in-the-moment control over what they’re allowed to purchase and won’t react to Also-Bought recommendations in the same way. Instead, they will appreciate recommendations that help them find the right product when they’re searching, such as recommendations imbued with deep product information like product interdependencies, or recommendations around what product offering they should look at based on their industry. 

A technology solution that has already thought through problems like these and built support for these types of B2B experiences takes companies one step closer to a differentiated experience, saving on both the time of customization and the research required to identify that pain point in the first place.

In addition, companies that have risked the early adoption of CX solutions have found that “B2C CX management tools fall short in addressing the clear complexities of the multi-contact experiences in a B2B world.” The more complex the product offerings, the more valuable a Sales Representative or live Service Representative can be for B2B buyers, who will often prefer that personal touch and reward it with long-term loyalty. This requires a solution that enables sales and service teams to use the digital commerce site as a tool for customer context so they can proactively respond to customer needs.
It takes a focused, dedicated B2B-first approach to keep in mind these kinds of complexities, and companies that partner with technology solutions will benefit from being able to support these experiences sooner and avoid having to force-fit B2C tools for their needs.
B2C CX management tools fall short in addressing the clear complexities of the multi-contact experiences in a B2B world.
Image

B2B-First: The Most Effective Way to Decrease Time-To-Market

The growth in B2B digital commerce over the past few years has been exciting, and there’s still plenty of room to grow for the companies that get started soon. There are many B2B sellers that are trying to catch up to the most minimal requirements of a modern digital commerce site for their buyers, meaning there’s still room to outpace the competition. Those that get there first will buy themselves time to differentiate themselves with strategies and features that haven’t even been thought of yet. Those that dawdle will have even more to catch up on a year or eighteen months from now.

The most effective way to decrease time-to-market is to choose a vendor that prioritizes B2B needs when it comes to core functionality and experience management. Settling for a technology approach that doesn’t put B2B at the center will increase the risk that, as the company strategy evolves, even more B2B needs will be unmet and the time-to-market for every improvement will continue to stay high. To stay relevant in both the short-term and the long-term, B2B sellers must strongly consider a B2B-first approach for their strategy.

What's your commerce challenge?

See how Liferay can help you grow your B2B online revenue.