DEFINING DIGITAL: CONCEPTS

什么是用户体验?

用户体验(UX)是人在与企业进行交互时产生的感受,特别发生在网站,网页应用程序或其他数字化技术的情景中。

用户体验关乎人,而非设计

用户体验描述了人们在浏览网站,使用移动应用程序或与企业数字化产品或服务互动时的感受。有很多因素有助于设计卓越的用户体验,如用户界面、可用性和用户调查。然而,用户体验设计不等于用户体验。听起来是重复的,但是UX是人们真实的体验,而不是UX专业人员汇总的影响体验的单个因素。优化和完善UX设计的因素可能会在很大程度上影响最终用户的体验,但总会有一些事情超出设计者的控制范围。

虽然没有明确的原因为什么用户体验不能应用到实体交互,该术语通常用于与数字化技术的交互。这证明UX方法关注 线框图、可用性和其他特定数字化流程领域

用户体验的特征

设计卓越的用户体验可以让最终用户满意。这意味着,在设计UX之前,企业必须清楚地了解用户的需求和优先级。进行深入地用户研究让UX设计者能够就UX的每方面的功能和价值做出决策。

Peter Morville 在蜂窝中阐述了这些方面,显示UX过程是多层面的,而不是线性的:

UX Honeycomb
Source: Semantic Studios "User Experience Design"

以下七个因素可用于指导设计卓越的体验,也可用于测试、研究和衡量有效性 (例如,查看User Testing如何重新定义用户可能会问的问题)。为了更好地理解每个方面,请参考下面一个商业银行网站的体验:

  • 有用性:该网站提供账户余额和账单支付等服务。
  • 可用性:当您查看您的账户余额时,信息是准确并可搜索的,这样您可以查看最近的存款和取款情况。换句话说,它每次都将以您希望的方式进行工作。
  • 理想性:该界面可以比直接访问银行更方便地管理您的财务状况。
  • 可访问性:该网站拥有辅助功能需求,如视觉障碍或其他障碍。
  • 可信任性:网站具有安全访问以及其他安全功能,例如结束会话后自动登出。
  • 可发现性:当您想要新的信用卡时,很容易进行在线申请或发现可用优惠。
  • 有价值性:网站上的自助服务功能可以降低支持中心的成本并提高客户满意度,对客户来说成为有价值的体验和值得投资的业务。

虽然在任何用户体验设计中都不应忽略上述方面,但对于企业来说,重要的是通过深入研究,了解用户优先级。有时,团队倾注大量资源设计出卓越的功能(可用),但发现客户并没有使用它,因为视觉设计不够漂亮(理想情况)。

企业在审查用户体验时,应注意不要将“有价值”与“独特”或“创新”混淆。网站的外观并没有包含用户体验的每一部分,有时候一个简单的解决方案就是最好的。一个网站可以很漂亮和现代化,但如果它有不必要的复杂性,仍会有很差的总体用户体验(例如,如果网站的可用性很差)。

统一用户体验和客户体验

客户体验 和用户体验可以看做是对同一问题的不同看法:我们怎样让客户满意?尽管用户体验专业人员花费大部分时间指导设计体验的过程,而客户体验专业人员则重点关注客户从企业的所有交互中获得的总体印象。然而, 这两个角色在企业内部往往是孤立的。通过统一用户体验和客户体验,企业可以创建一个平衡客户需求和业务需求的反馈循环。

通过统一用户体验和客户体验,企业可以创建一个平衡客户需求和业务需求的反馈循环。

例如,您如何决定是否限制您网站上的内容?要求用户需要在查看文章之前输入其电子邮件地址会导致不理想的体验,所以UX设计者可能会移除这一步骤。然而,通过邮件地址,营销人员可以给客户发送额外的资源,鼓励未来采购,所以CX专业人员可能会推出门控内容。通过启动两个角色间的对话,公司可以不断评估其目标最终达到最佳平衡。

top curve

拥有良好的用户体验确保您的企业获得投资回报。它能确保您投入网站的所有投资都能为您的业务带来可衡量的价值。

bottom curve

用户体验的关键优势

由于企业在其流程中变得更加以客户为中心,投资用户体验是非常有必要的。设计有价值的用户体验好处在于:

  • 更好地理解用户以及他们是怎样与贵公司进行交互的。
  • 通过不断改进的数字化产品和服务的体验,提高长期的客户忠诚度。
  • 一个用于设计品牌并为用户提供体验类型的可靠方法。随着连接设备数量的增加,推动公司提供一致的用户体验将变得更加重要。

对于任何企业来说,通过数字化转型,投资用户体验有助于确保数字化产品获得新老用户的青睐。

DEFINING DIGITAL: CONCEPTS

What is User Experience?

User experience (UX) is how a person feels while interacting with a company, especially in the context of a website, web application or other digital technology.

User Experience Is About People, Not Design

User experience describes how people feel when navigating a website, using a mobile app or otherwise interacting with a company's digital products or services. There are many elements that contribute to designing for exceptional user experiences, such as user interface, usability and user research. However, user experience design does not equal user experience. It sounds redundant, but UX is what people actually experience, not the separate elements that UX professionals bring together to influence the experience. Optimizing and refining the elements of UX design can affect how the end user feels to a great extent, but there will always be some things that are out of the designer’s control.

Though there is no reason why user experience can’t apply to physical interactions, the term is usually reserved for interactions with digital technology. This is evidenced in the way that UX methodologies focus on areas like wireframing, usability and other digital-specific processes.

Aspects of User Experience

Designing for exceptional user experiences is grounded in making the end user happy. This means that, before the UX can be designed, companies must have a clear understanding of their users’ needs and priorities. In-depth user research allows UX designers to make decisions regarding the functionality and value of each aspect of UX.

Peter Morville has laid out these aspects in a honeycomb, to show that the UX process is multi-dimensional, rather than linear:

UX Honeycomb
Source: Semantic Studios "User Experience Design"

These seven elements can be used to guide the design of great experiences, as well as test, research and measure their effectiveness (for instance, see how User Testing has reframed them as questions a user might ask). To better understand each aspect, consider the experience of a commercial banking website:

  • Useful: The website offers services such as account balances and bill pay.
  • Usable: When you view your account balance, the information is accurate and searchable, so that you can review recent deposits and withdrawals. In other words, it works the way you expect it to and it works every time.
  • Desirable: The interface makes it easier for you to manage your finances than visiting a branch would.
  • Accessible: The website accounts for accessibility needs such as visual impairment or other disabilities.
  • Credible: The site has secure access, as well as additional security features, such as automatically logging out once you have ended your session.
  • Findable: When you want a new credit card, it is easy to find available offers and apply online.
  • Valuable: The self-service features on the website decrease the support center costs and improve customer satisfaction, making it a worthwhile experience for customers as well as a good investment for the business.

While none of the above aspects should be overlooked in any user experience design, it is important for companies to know what their users’ highest priorities are, through in-depth user research. Sometimes, a team pours most of its resources into designing incredible functionality (usable), only to discover later that their customers won’t touch it because the visual design isn’t pretty enough (desirable).

Businesses should be careful not to confuse "valuable" with “unique” or "innovative" when reviewing user experience. The look and feel of a site doesn't encompass every part of the user's experience, and sometimes a simple solution is the best one. A site can be beautiful and modern, but still have poor overall user experience if it is unnecessarily complicated (i.e., if it has poor usability).

Uniting User Experience and Customer Experience

Customer experience and user experience can be seen as different approaches to the same question: how do we make customers happy? User experience professionals spend most of their time guiding the process of designing experiences, whereas customer experience professionals focus on the overall impression a customer receives from all of its interactions with a company. However, these two roles tend to be siloed within companies. By uniting user experience and customer experience, companies can create a feedback loop that balances customer needs with business needs.

By uniting user experience and customer experience, companies can create a feedback loop that balances customer needs with business needs.

For example, how do you decide whether to gate the content on your website? Requiring a user to give up her email address before being able to view an article creates a less desirable experience, so UX designers may push to remove that step. However, with an email address, marketers can send customers additional resources that encourage future purchases, so a CX professional may push for gated content. By initiating a conversation between the two roles, companies can constantly assess the best balance for their goals.

top curve

Having a really good user experience ensures that your company gets a return on its investment. It ensures that all the money you put into the website generates into measurable value for your business.

bottom curve

Key Benefits of User Experience

Because of the push for companies to become more customer-centric in their processes, investing in user experience should be a given today. Some of the benefits of designing valuable user experiences include:

  • Better understanding of users and how they interact with your company.
  • Driving long-term customer loyalty by continually refining the experience of digital products and services.
  • A solid methodology for designing the kind of user experience that a brand offers. This will become more important as the number of connected devices increases, pushing companies to provide consistent user experiences across them all.

For any business going through digital transformation, investing in user experience helps ensure that digital offerings are well-received by new and existing customers.