DEFINING DIGITAL: PLATFORMS

什么是门户网站?

门户是基于Web的平台,收集来自不同信息源的信息整合到单一的用户门户中,并为用户呈现与其情境最相关的信息。随着时间的推移,单一的门户网站已经发展成为支持数字化体验的门户平台。

门户网站是关于个性化的访问

在早期互联网中,门户网站尝试解决内容搜索的问题,在面对互联网上大量可用的信息时,一般用户搜索信息最简单方法就是通过人为设计的内容中心(被称为门户网站)。门户网站可以显示所选的内容,为用户提供自定义的体验。 关于门户网站,特别使用登录体验的示例,在大多数行业里比比皆是:

  • 病人门户
  • 政府门户
  • 内联网/外联网/工作场所门户
  • 知识管理门户
  • 学生门户
  • 供应商门户

每个门户类型基本的、统一的概念是基于指定或假定的用户角色的个性化访问。例如,员工通常需要工作场所上多个应用程序的访问权限,例如记录时间表格、安排休假以及内部沟通的应用程序。当在不同接触点之间来回跳转成为员工日常工作的一部分时,他们会感到困惑。新的员工门户网站把这些常用的服务和应用程序整合成一个平台,供您的团队访问,并可以基于部门或角色进一步进行自定义。这种个性化也可以扩展至匿名用户。例如,在服装零售网站上,即使用户没有创建账户,也可以通过储存过去的浏览信息进行个性化设置。

从门户网站到门户平台

如今,普通用户可以利用搜索引擎发现并解决问题,搜索引擎可以更为熟练地提供相关结果。加上社交媒体所提供的信息共享功能,意味着人为设计的信息列表并不是大多数用户必须的起点。然而,门户网站的三个突出优势——集成、一致性和个性化成为今天业务中日益重要的组成部分:数字化客户体验。 这三大优势通过以下方式支持数字化客户体验:

门户网站的三个突出优势——集成、一致性和个性化成为今天业务中日益重要的组成部分:数字化客户体验。
  1. 集成功能允许组织在后端统一系统和客户数据。
  2. 强调数字化接触点的一致性可以让这些系统在前端拥有相同的外观。
  3. 通过将传记数据(他们是谁)和行为数据(他们在网站上做了什么)相结合进行个性化设置,通过登录过程改善企业情境化体验的功能。

现代化门户平台在用户参与中发挥重要作用,特别当他们已经扩展如内容管理系统或营销自动化等新功能。为了实现门户平台的竞争优势,企业正在重新考虑这三大优势在当今数字化客户体验的多接触点背景下的价值。

Web portals aggregate and display information.
top curve

在更广泛的数字化体验平台架构中利用【数字化体验门户】是未来发展的趋势......他们拥有大量用于验证网页体验的可重用代码,将后端数据整合到一起,客户可以进行自助服务。

bottom curve

门户网站正在转型成数字化体验平台

门户网站代表了企业网站的早期模式转变,是为了构建以客户为中心,而不是以业务为中心的网站。理想情况下,门户可以让企业设计基于用户需求的网站和导航,而不是仅在内部有意义的组织结构。

随着门户市场的成熟,领先的门户供应商添加广泛的功能集,帮助企业创建以用户为中心的网页、移动端、社交和连接设备的数字化体验。这些功能包括内容管理、营销、工作流、定位和移动支持。正因为此,一些门户正在转型为 数字化体验平台 ,利用他们在集成和个性化方面的优势,推动整个组织的变革。

根据Forrester的报告,数字化客户体验需要面对的首要技术挑战就是后端系统集成不充分。门户——继承DXP有强大的整合功能,并专注于个性化需求,提供一致的连接体验,呈现到每个用户情境中。

还有其他种类的数字化体验平台,包括不在商业服务器和网络内容管理系统中成长的平台。即使您选择不使用门户——继承DXP,您可能也需要将门户网站技术纳入您的战略,以满足跨不同接触点数字化体验的集成需求。

什么时候使用门户平台

除了广泛使用的数字化转型应用程序,门户平台仍然可用于其他业务场景,例如:

  • 客户自助服务。门户网站非常适合在售后阶段收集与客户相关的信息,帮助企业培养长期忠诚度,同时减少客户服务呼叫中心的工作量。
  • 业务敏捷性。门户平台设备齐全,支持移动体验和使用模块化架构,可以快速推出新的数字化接触点,同时仍可携带用户身份验证和连接经验所需的后端数据。

根据Gartner的报告, “组织通常关注这些软件类别——水平门户平台或WCM系统——作为网站的主要软件基础。”现代化门户继续成为依靠广泛集成和个性化界面的数字化业务战略组织的有用平台。

DEFINING DIGITAL: PLATFORMS

What is a Web Portal?

A portal is a web-based platform that collects information from different sources into a single user interface and presents users with the most relevant information for their context. Over time, simple web portals have evolved into portal platforms that support digital customer experience initiatives.

Web Portals Are About Personalized Access

The problem portals tried to solve in the early days of the internet was content discovery. In the face of the vast amount of information available online, the easiest way for the average user to discover information was through a human-curated content hub, known as a portal. Portals could display selected content in order to provide a custom experience for users.

Examples of portals, particularly those that use a login experience, abound in most industries:

  • Patient Portals
  • Government Portals
  • Intranets/Extranets/Workplace Portals
  • Knowledge Management Portals
  • Student Portals
  • Vendor Portals

The basic, uniting concept for each type of portal is personalized access, based on an assigned or assumed user role. For example, workplaces typically have multiple applications that their employees need to access, such as an application for recording time sheets, another for scheduling time off and a third for sending internal communications. Employees are frustrated when they have too many touchpoints that they need to jump between as part of their daily routine. A new employee portal brings together these common services and applications into one place for your team to access, and can further customize the page based on department or role. This personalization can also extend to anonymous users. Clothing retail sites, for instance, can begin personalizing which products are displayed based on stored information from past visits, even if the user hasn’t created an account.

From Web Portals to Portal Platforms

Today, the average user can address the problem of content discovery with search engines, which have become more adept at serving relevant results. This, plus the information sharing capabilities offered by social media, means that human-curated lists of information are not a necessary starting place for most users. However, the three distinguishing strengths of portals — integration, consistency and personalization — are essential components of an increasingly important part of business today: digital customer experience.

These three strengths support digital customer experience in the following ways:

The three distinguishing strengths of portals — integration, consistency and personalization — are essential components of an increasingly important part of business today: digital customer experience.
  1. Integration capabilities allow organizations to unite systems and customer data on the back end.
  2. An emphasis on consistency across digital touchpoints gives these united systems a shared look and feel on the front end.
  3. Personalization through a combination of biographical data (who they are) and behavioral data (what they did on the site) gives enterprises the ability to contextualize experiences, usually facilitated by a login process.

Modern portal platforms can play an important role in customer engagement, especially when they have been extended with new features such as content management systems or marketing automation. In order to realize the competitive advantages of portal platforms, companies are rethinking the value of these three strengths in today’s multi-touchpoint context of digital customer experience.

Web portals aggregate and display information.
top curve

Leveraging [digital experience portals] within the broader digital experience platform architecture is strategic for the future... They own much of the reusable code for the authenticated web experience, stitch backend data together, and allow the customer to self-serve.

bottom curve

Web Portals Are Transforming Into Digital Experience Platforms

Portals represent an early paradigm shift for enterprises online, which was to build websites that were customer-centric, rather than business-centric. Ideally, a portal enables an enterprise to design sites and navigations that are based on the user’s needs, rather than an organizational structure that only makes sense internally.

As the market for portals has matured, leading portal vendors have added broad feature sets that help enterprises create these user-centric digital experiences for web, mobile, social and connected devices. These features include content management, marketing, workflow, targeting and mobile support. Because of this, some portal platforms are transforming into digital experience platforms that use their strengths in integration and personalization to drive change throughout the organization.

According to Forrester, the number one technical challenge for digital customer experience initiatives is inadequate integration of back-end systems. Portal-heritage DXPs have a strong story around integration and provide the focus on personalization necessary to deliver consistent, connected experiences that are tailored to each user’s context.

There are other flavors of digital experience platforms, including those that have grown out of commerce servers and web content management systems. Even if you choose not to use a portal-heritage DXP, you will likely need to incorporate portal technology into your strategy in order to meet the integration needs of digital experiences across different touchpoints.

When to Use a Portal Platform

Aside from broad digital transformation applications, portal platforms are still uniquely useful for several business scenarios, such as:

  • Customer self service. Portals are well-suited to gathering information relevant to customers in the post-purchase phase, allowing companies to nurture long-term loyalty while decreasing the burden to customer service call centers.
  • Business agility. Portal platforms that support mobile experiences and use modular architecture are now well-equipped to quickly roll out new digital touchpoints, while still carrying the user authentication and integrated back-end data necessary to connect experiences.

According to Gartner, “organizations have typically looked toward these software categories — horizontal portal platforms or WCM systems — as the primary software foundations for their websites.” Modern portals continue to be useful platforms for organizations that rely on extensive integration and personalized interfaces for their digital business strategies.