DEFINING DIGITAL: CONCEPTS

什么是数字化客户体验?

数字化客户体验是客户和企业之间数字化互动的结合,其最终目的是吸引客户。

数字化客户体验和客户体验

客户体验(CX)的广泛定义可以覆盖从传统的客户服务渠道到人们与企业互动的新的数字接口。数字化客户体验(DCX)重点关注前端服务和后台办公流程优化,为客户呈现最佳体验。

因为这两个概念都是重点致力于满足客户的期望,所以数字化和非数字化时常有重叠。对于明确数字化客户体验更有帮助,让企业面对DCX策略时做出正确的选择。

关于数字化客户体验的常见误区

  • 客户非常关注数字化。事实上,客户并不关心他们的体验是数字化还是非数字化的,他们只想通过最方便的方式访问企业,无论通过什么渠道。
  • DCX 与技术和策略有关。当谈到DCX时,企业文化比策略重要。公司凭借恰当的技术和以客户为中心的业务视角来提高数字化的客户体验。大多关于数字化转型的深入讨论都集中在这一部分。
  • DCX 与销售和营销有关。 根据Forrester的分析报告, 大多数的数字化体验平台的资源集中在销售、营销和业务上而忽视客户服务、保持客户忠诚度和参与功能。这也许会让企业的销售和营销保持良好的数字化客户体验,但是创建适用于整个客户生命周期的体验是现今业务中至关重要的组成部分。
  • DCX 仅限于数字化品牌。 如果企业想参与今天数字化经济,那么所有业务都需要转型成为数字化业务。Forrester评论 中指出“植根于卓越操作的数字化客户体验”的重要性,并强调在大多数企业中采用数字化技术作为所有客户体验的基础,而不是纯数字化品牌可以带动收入和经济增长。

管理数字化客户体验

考虑到DCX和CX经常重叠,一些人问管理数字化客户体验是否相关。可以考虑以下两种方法:

  • 关注整体的客户生命周期,给予数字化和非数字化体验相同的重视,同时进行补充和优化。这种方法把DCX 仅仅作为客户体验策略中的一部分。
  • 关注数字化客户体验。 哈佛商业评论宣称 “这不仅是客户体验的一个子集,良好的客户体验策略不等于良好的数字化客户体验策略”。它还认为,在线和离线的客户有不同的需求和期望,这让关注好的DCX变得非常重要——企业不能想当然地认为他们改善客户体验的工作会转化成数字化体验。并且,它也假设在线和离线之间有明确的界限,所以在客户整个历程中渠道合并和客户历程相交而越来越模糊。

这两种方法都可以实现,选择哪一种取决于您的受众和数字化接触点的成熟程度。如果您的客户主要使用数字化,但您的数字化服务低于行业的标准,最初关注DCX将会加速您业务的发展,而更成熟的数字化业务可能会需要采取一种全面的方法,以保证CX策略统一。

无论哪种方式,客户对于服务质量都有较高的期望,这对于企业改善功能提供出色的数字化体验至关重要。这一方面的不一致性将影响客户的忠诚度和整体的客户体验。

参阅:供应商愿景:数字化时代的忠诚度:吸引现有客户参与的4大关键性战略

top curve

从整体客户体验中分离数字化客户体验,在一个数字化和实体化 ‘合并’在一起的世界里,如果我们把它看做一个 ‘真正’ 的分离, 只考虑客户,而不考虑渠道和设备将毫无意义。

bottom curve

从什么地方开始着手

避免一刀切的方法启动数字化客户体验的策略,毕竟客户是单独的个体,您的方法将取决于目标受众。Forrester 的报告检测工作表 帮助企业判定策略的成熟程度。

如上文所述,一致性是改善客户体验的一个关键目标,零碎的技术系统,难以提供客户所期望的那种统一体验。其结果是客户体验不佳,例如当您在网上开始填写表格,然后想要在手机上继续填写时,您必须重新填写你您的所有信息。

一致性需要技术部门整合内部资源,使用 数字化体验平台 或专门开发的另一个解决方案打破数字壁垒进行更加统一的管理。

Exceptional digital customer experiences require integrated IT.
Source: foresee.com/assets/fxi2014.pdf

数字化客户体验的示例

尽管这是术语,DCX 并不仅限于客户的业务,它适用于每一个为外部用户(病人、学生、市民等)、员工、合作伙伴或其他与企业内部进行互动的用户。他们的共同点是利用数字化技术促进互动。

汽车业

一辆新车通过API发送诊断信息,客户可以通过移动应用或在线控制面板进行查看服务提醒和产品召回通知。也可以查看理财账单的信息并跟踪账单支付信息情况。客户可以把汽车品牌作为车辆保养方面的专家资源。

银行业

客户通过银行移动应用程序建立新的储蓄账户。使用银行的预算工具设定目标并自动保存,平衡花费、账户账单、待定付款和目标。客户将每月收到对其储蓄情况和消费习惯报告的更新文件,其结果是客户对银行有一个友好、有用的顾问形象。

教育业

学生可以通过她所在大学的门户网站访问数字化课堂并查看教科书。她的学习过程将通过每个模块结束后的测验进行跟踪,并基于某些题目表现的困扰提供改进建议。她可以通过网页或移动设备界面与教授交谈或与教授助手预约,这样的体验让体验者更感受到个性化,学校也被认为更有理解力和支持能力。

政府业

政府员工通过街道上安装的蓝牙传感器监测车辆和行人交通情况。她能够与其他部门分享信息,处理交通堵塞的问题。如果堵塞的原因是街道设施需要修复(如损坏的路灯),她可以设置在线调度程序,追踪工人位置和维修状态进行修复。一旦维修完成,她可以通过社交媒体分享此信息。(从内部角度来看)这个机构产生的效果既专业又高效。

医疗保健业

在医生拜访时,病人设立健康目标帮助管理她的健康。在拜访期间,病人使用应用程序监测重要器官、食物摄入量、锻炼和处方等情况。同时也有互动学习资料和在线社区,在那里她可以学习,其他病人也会鼓励她为同一目标而努力。等到她的身体逐渐改善后,减少去医院的次数和花费。这可以为医疗保健留下了专业并个性化的印象。

零售业

书店也可以设立在线社区,客户可以保留自己喜欢书籍的评论,加入在线讨论组,参加(线上或者线下)活动。客户可以基于订单的历史记录形成推荐书单进行挑选。客户可以拿一杯咖啡坐在书店里,选择哪些书籍需要保留。为客户提供简单,享受的方式来管理他的阅读情况。

DEFINING DIGITAL: CONCEPTS

What is Digital Customer Experience?

Digital customer experience is the sum of digital interactions between a customer and a company and the resulting impression that a customer walks away with.

Digital Customer Experience vs. Customer Experience

The broad umbrella of customer experience (CX) can cover anything from traditional customer service channels to new digital interfaces that people use to interact with companies. Digital customer experience (DCX) focuses on the latter, including both front-end services and back-office process optimization that ultimately benefits customers.

Because both concepts are intensely focused on meeting customer expectations, they overlap as often as digital and non-digital do in today’s world. It may be more useful to clarify what digital customer experience isn’t, so that companies can make sure they have the right mindset in their approach to DCX strategy.

Common Misconceptions About Digital Customer Experience

  • Customers care about digital. In fact, customers don’t think of their experience in digital and non-digital categories. They want to access companies in the most convenient way possible, regardless of channel.
  • DCX is about technology and strategy. Culture outweighs strategy when it comes to DCX. Companies with the right technology still need to embrace a customer-centric view of their business in order to successfully improve digital customer experiences. Most discussions of digital transformation hit on this crucial point in greater depth.
  • DCX is about sales and marketing. According to Forrester analysts, most digital experience platforms focus most of their resources on sales, marketing and commerce while neglecting customer service, retention loyalty and engagement functions. This could lead companies to associate good DCX with sales and marketing, but creating experiences that apply to the entire customer lifecycle is a critical part of business today.
  • DCX is limited to digital-only brands. All businesses need to become digital businesses if they want to participate in the current digital economy. Forrester describes the importance of “digitally-based customer experiences rooted in operational excellence”, emphasizing that using digital technology as a basis for all customer experience can drive revenue and growth in most businesses, not just digital-only brands.

Managing the Digital Customer Experience

Given that DCX and CX so often overlap, some have asked whether managing the digital customer experience is even relevant. There are two approaches to consider:

  • Focus on the holistic customer lifecycle, giving equal attention to the way digital and non-digital experiences complement each other and optimizing both. This approach treats DCX as just one part of the overall customer experience strategy.
  • Focus primarily on digital customer experience. An article in the Harvard Business Review asserts that “this isn’t merely a subset of customer experience, and a good customer experience strategy doesn’t equate to a good digital customer experience strategy.” It goes on to argue that online and offline consumers have different needs and expectations, which is what makes a focus on better DCX so important — companies can’t assume that their work to improve customer experience will translate well to digital experiences. However, it also assumes that there is a clear line between online and offline, which is increasingly untrue as channels merge and intersect throughout the customer journey.

Both approaches have value, depending on your audience and the maturity of your digital touchpoints. If your customers are primarily digital, but your digital services are below standard for your industry, an initial focus on DCX will get you up to speed faster, whereas a more mature digital business may want to take a holistic approach in order to keep its CX strategy unified. Either way, customers have high expectations for quality of service, which makes it crucial for businesses to improve their ability to deliver great digital customer experiences. Inconsistency in this area frustrates users and erodes loyalty, which will impact overall customer experience whether you manage it separately from DCX or not.

top curve

Separating digital customer experience from customer experience overall, in a world where digital and physical ‘merge’, would be meaningless if we look at it as a ‘real’ separation. The customer is one, regardless of channels and devices.

bottom curve

Where to Start

There is no one-size-fits-all approach to beginning a digital customer experience strategy. Customers are individuals, after all, and your approach will depend on your target audience. Forrester has put together an assessment worksheet to help companies gauge how mature their strategies are.

As mentioned above, consistency is a key goal in improving digital customer experience. Technology systems that are cobbled together piecemeal make it difficult to deliver the kind of unified experience customers expect. The result is poor experiences, such as when you begin filling out a form online, want to continue on your mobile phone, and find that you have to fill out all of your information again. Consistency takes integrated IT and consolidated internal processes, often with the use of a digital experience platform or another solution that is specifically developed to break apart data siloes for more unified management.

Examples of Digital Customer Experience

Despite its terminology, DCX isn’t exclusive to customer-based businesses. It applies to every industry that provides services to external users (patients, students, citizens, etc.) as well as employees, partners or other users that interact with a company internally. What unites them is the use of digital technology to facilitate the interaction.

Automotive  A new car sends diagnostic information via an API for a customer to view on a mobile app or online dashboard, along with service reminders and product recall notices. He can also view his financing information and track bill payments. The customer sees the automobile brand as an expert resource for taking care of his vehicle.
Banking A customer opens a new savings account via his bank's mobile app. He uses the bank's budgeting tool to set goals and save automatically, giving him a balance of what is safe to spend, taking into account bills, pending payments and goals. Once a month, the customer receives a text with an update on the status of his savings and a report breaking down spending habits. The resulting impression of the bank is a friendly, helpful advisor.
Education A student connects to her university portal to access digital lectures and textbooks. Her learning is tracked with quizzes at the end of each module and suggested content is provided based on demonstrated struggle with certain topics. She's able to chat with professors or set appointments with teacher aides through the web or mobile interface. She sees her experience as personal, and the university as understanding and supportive.
Government A city employee monitors vehicular and pedestrian traffic via bluetooth-enabled sensors located along the streets. She is able to share the information with other departments so they can address congestion issues. If traffic is due to a needed street repair (such as a broken light), she is able to set up repairs through an online scheduler, and track workers' locations and status. Once repairs are complete, she can share the information immediately through social media. The resulting impression of the agency (from an internal perspective) is tech-savvy and efficient.
Healthcare During a doctor's visit, a patient sets wellness goals to help manage her health. Between visits, she uses an app to monitor her vitals, food intake, exercise and prescriptions. There are also interactive learning materials and an online community, where she can learn and be encouraged by others working on the same goals. Her health improves over time, reducing the need for visits and lowering the hospital's cost. The resulting impression is professional, personal healthcare.
Retail A local bookstore also has an online community where customers can save reviews of their favorite books, join online discussion groups and participate in virtual events or ones held at the store. A customer can pick from recommended titles based on his past order history that are then prepared for him at the store. He can sit at the store with a coffee to skim a few of the titles, and choose which ones to keep. The customer feels like the bookstore is a simple, enjoyable way to manage his reading.